[cm_ad_changer group_id="2"]

AFCON 2012 draw unveiled


The 16 nations that qualified for the 2012 event were matched up with the teams who had already worked their way through the early qualifying stages.

With 30 teams left, they were split into two pots, with one team from Pot 1 paired with a team from Pot 2 at the draw, which took place at Emperor’s Palace in Johannesburg.

Pot 1 contained Zambia, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Morocco, Mali, Tunisia, Cameroon, Angola, Nigeria, Gabon, Sudan, Algeria, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea and Burkina Faso.

While Pot 2 was made up of CAR, Senegal, Niger, Botswana, Uganda, Malawi, Mozambique, Togo, Cape Verde, Ethiopia, Liberia, DR Congo, Zimbabwe, Sierra Leone and Libya.

Other interesting fixtures include Libya taking on Algeria, while the Black Stars of Ghana will have to overcome Malawi.

The full list of fixtures is as follows: 

  • Central African Republic v Burkina Faso
  • Gabon v Togo
  • DR Congo v Equatorial Guinea
  • Cote d’Ivoire v Senegal
  • Libya v Algeria
  • Sudan v Ethiopia
  • Guinea v Niger
  • Sierra Leone v Tunisia
  • Mozambique v Morocco
  • Cape Verde v Cameroon
  • Zambia v Uganda
  • Liberia v Nigeria
  • Ghana v Malawi
  • Zimbabwe v Angola
  • Mali v Botswana

The first-legs will be played on the weekend of September 7-9, while the second legs are scheduled for the weekend of October 12-14


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.