AFCON 2013 in full swing!

The Mascot with the most votes will then be announced as the official Mascot of the Orange Africa Cup of Nations 2013.

The shortlisted Mascots are Shingo, Hagazonke and Takuma, who were shortlisted after the participation of 300 schools.

Members of the public who vote for the winning Mascot, stand a chance of winning various exciting prizes.

After the AFCON tournament to be held from 19 January to 10 February 2013 the winning Mascot will then be adopted as a Sport Mascot for all sports events to be held in South Africa.

The Mascot competition sms line is 33792.

The competition opened on 15 October and close on the 19 October 2012.

Meanwhile, The Orange Africa Cup of Nations Local Organizing Committee prepares for the raising of the national flags on October 19 from 10am at SAFA House for the African countries that made it to the final 16 teams to the 29th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations.

LOC Chairperson, Chief MweloNonkonyana said: “On behalf of the entire board, management and staff we take this opportunity to congratulate the teams that made it through in what was a nerve gripping and fist clenching qualifying rounds of the Africa Cup of Nations.  Congratulations are deserved for Cape Verde to have who are debutants to this tournament as well as Ethiopia who return to this competition after 30 years of absence. To the entire 16 nations competing for one glory – the ultimate trophy, we want to extend a warm African welcome to all of them.”

South Africa is now joined by Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde Islands, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Togo, Tunisia and Zambia (defending champions).

Mvuzo Mbebe, the LOC Chief Executive Officer says: “The quality of the teams that have made it through surely should give enough reasons for South Africans and the continent to rally behind the tournament. 

However, it would have been really great for some of the neighbouring countries to have made it through to the last 16 because of the proximity and the number of fans likely to attend the matches.”

These 16 Participating Member Countries will now converge in Durban, next week Wednesday, where the Official Final Draw will be conducted.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.