Africa Player of the Year to be announced soon

The list of five contenders selected by football experts around Africa includes:
1. Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew – Ghana and Marseille
2. Samuel Eto’o – Cameroon and Anzhi Makhachkala
3. Gervinho – Ivory Coast and Arsenal
4. Seydou Keita – Mali and Barcelona
5. Yaya Touré – Ivory Coast and Manchester City
Fans can vote online at bbc.com/africanfootball and by SMS to +44 77 86 20 20 08, by
texting 1 for Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew; 2 for Samuel Eto’o; 3 for Gervinho; 4 for Seydou
Keita; and 5 for Yaya Touré. 
The BBC’s African Football blogger Piers Edwards says: “This shortlist reinforces
the importance of African footballers to Europe ‘s top clubs.  It will be intriguing
to see who triumphs in the end.”
Voting runs until Friday 9 December 2011. BBC African Footballer of the Year 2011
will be announced in Sport Today live on Friday 16 December 2011.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.