Baroka promoted to PSL. Cosmos relegated. Its’ super 7 for Downs!

Cloud nine. Baroka FC coach Kgoloko Thobejane held aloft by fans and players’ with his promotional medal after taking the team to PSL next season. Thobejane has confirmed he’s staying put with the club.

Ask Baroka FC who will now form part of the elite as PSL ‘new boys’ after their successful spell in the NFD.

As a result, the Bakgakga ba Ga-Mphahlele- as the team is known- will be afforded bonuses by the club’s boss Khurishi Mphahlele.

“We are very happy,” Mphahlele said, during interview following the promotion over the weekend after drawing with Milano 1-all.

“I started with this club in 2007 and so far I cannot say I have wasted my money.

“The bonuses will come, but I won’t say how much,” he was quoted.

Under the tutelage of former teacher, coach Kgoloko Thobejane, who prefers conducting interviews in his born language, the charges are ready for the PSL campaign although a bit of strengthening the team should be considered.

It is hoped Mphahlele will keep the core of the team including the coach, following the departure of deadly striker Thabiso Kutumela (NFD top goal scorer) to Orlando Pirates next season.

Unfortunately, promoted teams -often than not- axe coach’s thus destabilizing the rhythm of the team.

We hope this won’t be the case at Baroka FC, who now join Polokwane City in the elite league.

The last time when the province had two clubs in the PSL was in the 2005/2006 season, when Dynamos FC and Black Leopards FC were both in the top flight.

Despite being fined R200 000, Jomo Cosmos sadly returns to NFD.

Meanwhile, we also congratulate Mamelodi Sundowns for winning the PSL silverware for the seventh-time.

Under coach Pitso “Jingles” Mosimane and his capable and well thought technical team, Downs’ made history by surpassing the 71 point lead from Kaizer Chiefs.

The bulk of the team, has been nominated in the forthcoming PSL awards ceremony scheduled for next Monday at Emperors Palace.

Here is the full list:

Footballer of the Season

Khama Billiat – Mamelodi Sundowns

Keagan Dolly – Mamelodi Sundowns

Hlompho Kekana – Mamelodi Sundowns

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season

Khama Billiat – Mamelodi Sundowns

Keagan Dolly – Mamelodi Sundowns

Hlompho Kekana – Mamelodi Sundowns

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

Denis Onyango – Mamelodi Sundowns

Moeneeb Josephs – Bidvest Wits

Shu-Aib Walters – Mpumalanga Black Aces

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season

Aubrey Modiba – Mpumalanga Black Aces

Sello Jaftha – Free State Stars

Rivaldo Coetzee – Ajax Cape Town

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season

Thabo Nthethe – Mamelodi Sundowns

khama billiat
Hot property. Downs deadly striker Khama Billiat has been nominated in no more than four categories for PSL awards.

Thulani Hlatshwayo – Bidvest Wits

Vuyo Mere – Platinum Stars

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season

Khama Billiat – Mamelodi Sundowns

Keagan Dolly – Mamelodi Sundowns

Hlompho Kekana – Mamelodi Sundowns

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

Pitso Mosimane – Mamelodi Sundowns

Gavin Hunt – Bidvest Wits

Muhsin Ertugral – MP Black Aces

Absa Premiership Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season

Ben Motshwari of Bidvest Wits vs Chippa United

Mpho Makola of Orlando Pirates vs Chippa United

Thabo Rakhale of Orlando Pirates vs MP Black Aces

Absa Premiership Top Goal-scorer of the Season

Collins Mbesuma – Mpumalanga Black Aces

MTN8 Last Man Standing

George Lebese – Kaizer Chiefs

Cecil Lolo – Ajax Cape Town

Ndiviwe Mdabuka – Ajax Cape Town

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament

Denis Onyango – Mamelodi Sundowns

Thabo Nthethe – Mamelodi Sundowns

Bongani Zungu – Mamelodi Sundowns

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Tendai Ndoro – Orlando Pirates

Jacky Motshegwa – Baroka FC

Jeremy Brockie – SuperSport United

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament

Dumisani Ngwenya – Baroka FC

Oscarine Masuluke – Baroka FC

Ndivhuwo Ravhuhali – Baroka FC

NFD Top Goal-scorer of the Season

Thabiso Kutumela – Baroka FC

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Player of the Season

Khaya Shozi – Mamelodi Sundowns

Liam Jordan – Bidvest Wits

Sibusiso Sibeko – Golden Arrows

Related posts

Soweto Schools are becoming techno-savvy!


Jail time for Ndlovu ‘Rhino-poaching’ gang


Another blunder by dpt of health as expiry dates of vaccines brings jittery to South Africans


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.