BestmedTuks race a resounding success!

The under-dog who came third in last year’s 10km and second in 21.1km in 2012, was happy with how things turned out for him, considering his records since participating in the race.

“I was very happy with my time as this race was an important part of my training for the Two Oceans Marathon,” says Mokgobu.

Defending champion and favourite Stephen Mokoka, only entered the 10km and won it. Due to other obligations he entered at the last minute hence his participation in the 10km Men’s race.    

With over 3000 participants-celebs, sporting figures and media the BestmedTuks race has been punted as one of the liveliest events in the calendar of sport in the country which allows family participation.

The key message behind the marathon is healthy living!

Dries la Grange, CEO at Bestmed, says:” We’re happy with the turn-out every year. This goes to show how popular this sport is to the community and families.

Popular because it features local and international athletes who grace this event in aid of CANSA, who are our beneficiaries.”

“Healthy living is our core message hence it is evident in other sporting projects we’re involved with throughout the country,” says the jubilant La Grange.    

Thabita Tsatsa was the first to cross the line in the 21.1km Women’s Open race in a time of 82:55. “I was confident and excited to compete with all my fellow runners. As it was my first race this year, I paced myself in preparation to defend my title in the Two Oceans Marathon in April this year.”

Her fellow country patriot the admired Rutendo Nyahora, took the title for the second time in the 10km Women’s Open race in a time of 34:30.

She commented: “The race was challenging due to the changed route, which had a lot more bends. It was exciting to run with my competitors, Lebo Phalula and Myrette Filmater but it did not happen. This race is part of my preparations for the Spar Ladies race.”

The 21.1km Women’s Walk was won by Sandra Steenkamp in a time of 2:05.51; and the 21.1km Men’s Walk won by Wayne Steenkamp in a time of 98:25.

The 10km Women’s Walk was won by Anel Oosthuizen in a time of 50:55; and the 10km Men’s Walk won by Lebogang Shange in a time of 42:35; and the 10km Wheelchair race was won by Christiaan de Wet in a time of 61:19.

Firm believer of development sport Deputy Minister of Sports, Gert Oosthuizen, said such events should be supported as they encourage the young ones to participate in sport from the early stage.

“This is where we measure their potential capabilities from early ages. Our future athletes are identified from such events hence they need our support from the department, “says the Deputy Minister during presentation.

Yes, yours truly also participated in the media 5km race and outsmarted all colleagues who along the road kept yelling for water and seek medical attention.

The medal draped on my neck showed tenacity and bravery in such situations. Amen!

Results at a glance:


Desmond Mokgobu 65:28
Kgosi Tsosane 66:14
Precious Mashele 67:21

Stephen Mokoka 30:06
Benedict Moeng 30:23
Sikhumbuzo Seme 30:28


Thabita Tsatsa 82:55
Zola Pieterse 87:56
Prudence Zwane 88:40


Rutendo Nyahora 34:30
Lebo Phalula 35:12
Myrette Filmater 35:20

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.