CCIA awards to recognise ‘creative thinkers’ unveiled

WHAT was initiated in 2023 has come to fruition.

The South African Cultural and Creative Industry Awards (CCIA) were launched on Thursday, by the minister of arts and culture, Zizi Kodwa, whose aim is recognise the best amongst creative space.

“Amongst several reasons, these awards are intended to intentionally lift up, support the creative and cultural riches that join people together, nourish the spirit, liven up communities, inspire and create a vibrant nation, to also benchmark ourselves against the best in the world as we do them, to create a truly special moment,” says the minister, at the awards launch held at the swanky Melrose Arch Gallery.

The awards to be held end of March 2024, were graced by leading creative and culture experts in mzansi. Therefore the nominations are now open and the public is encouraged to vote.

The awards follows deliberations and rigorous talks amongst various stakeholders in 2023 and the minister.

 The Cultural and Creative Industry Awards are to be the most desired recognition and cultural phenomenon in the South African creative industry, bestowed on SA’s top and leading creatives in various creative sector categories and subdomains, creatives that exhibit outstanding artistic and technical achievement.

These are creatives from across cultural domains that push the boundaries of their creative ability and show devotion to excellence with uncompromising quality, groundbreaking creativity, and relentless innovation that defines those that are outstanding from the best.

CCIA awards also act as a catalyst for economic development and social cohesion, building bridges between culture, media, and corporate sectors.

The likes of Prof Pituka Ntuli, mme Lilian Dube, globetrotter Thebe Ikalafeng, Dr John Kani, Grammy award winner & fluitist Wouter Kellerman, were amongst the A-listers who graced the launch.

The ever-bubbly Ikalafeng, who had just landed in the country from Switzerland for the launch had this to say:” I’m happy that finally what speaks directly to the sector and my colleagues, finally has come to fruition. I’m fully behind such initiatives that recognises and empowers our own while still alive.”

The CCIA Awards comprise eight categories and 30 awards.

Here are the categories

The Heritage Site Category (x3 Awards)

  • Outstanding Museum Award
  • Outstanding Archaeological & Historical Site Award
  • Outstanding Cultural Landscape Award

The Visual Arts & Craft Category (x3 Awards)

  • Outstanding Visual Artist Award
  • Outstanding Curator Award
  • Outstanding Crafter Award

The Literary Works Category (x4 Awards)

  • Outstanding Children Fiction Book Award
  • Outstanding Book, Fiction Award
  • Outstanding Book, Non-Fiction Award
  • Outstanding Publisher Award

The Audio Visual & Interactive Media Category (x6 Awards)

  • Outstanding Film Fiction Award
  • Outstanding Documentary Film or TV Series Award
  • Outstanding TV Drama Award
  • Outstanding Actor TV and Film Award
  • Outstanding Animation Award
  • Outstanding Gaming Award

The Design & Creative Services (x4 Awards)

  • Outstanding Fashion and Textile Designer Award
  • Outstanding Graphic & Multimedia Designer Award
  • Outstanding Product Award
  • Outstanding Architecture and Interior Designer Award

The Performing Arts Category (x5 Awards)

  • Outstanding Theatre Production Award
  • Outstanding Dance Production Award
  • Outstanding Musician Award
  • Outstanding Actor in Theatre Award
  • Outstanding Performance Award (Poet, Comedian)

The Ministry (Discretionary Category) (x3 Awards)

These awards are decided, announced, and presented by the Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture.

Image Mdu Mphahlele (Grammy award winner Wouter Kellerman recorded making a signature at the award launch. Next to him is MC for the day Unathi Nkayi).

·  Lifetime Achievement Award

Bestowed to someone with 20 years or more of documented achievement and outstanding contribution over the individual’s whole career to the South African creative industry and internationally.

·  Internationally Recognised Artist or Group Award

This award is presented to an artist or group that has received international recognition, exhibited, and performed on international platforms for five years and more.

·  Artist with Disability Award

This award is awarded to a person with a disability who has achieved excellence in their craft within the creative and cultural industries.

The People’s Choice category (x2 Award)

·  Breakthrough Artist Award

This award is awarded to a ‘Newcomer’ in the industry who is creating or producing brilliant work.

·  Online Creator of the Year

The award is voted for by the public and intended to honour and recognise the most influential online voices and content producers across the widest range of categories including lifestyle, finance, travel, comedy, fashion, technology and more.

Submissions for nominations close on 29 February 2024

For more, go to https://cciawards.co.za/

Top image Mdu Mphahlele (Legendary Mme Lilian Dube, broadcaster Penny Lebyane and Gauteng Arts & Culture chief director, Shane Maja at the CCIA media launch on Thursday at Melrose Arch).

Related posts

Kicks Sportswear enters a market with clear intention: wala wasala!


RTMC unveils online payment services in an effort to curb fraud


Tresor goes Nostalgic


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.