CoJ new Mayor Matongo effects minor changes to his ‘cabinet’

Matongo remained with the tried and tested with the exception of two changes.

Only the portfolios of Finance and Economic Development were assigned new MMCs as Matshidiso Mfikoe and Thomas Mofokeng, respectively.

Mfikoe returns as MMC Finance after having served as an MMC for EISD under the former Johannesburg Mayor Parks Tau pre-2016.

Meanwhile, Mofokeng replaces MMC Lawrence Khoza in the Economic Development portfolio.

The Environment and Infrastructure Services Department (EISD) MMC Mpho Moerane, Housing MMC Mlungisi Mabaso, Transport MMC Helen Makhuba, as Health and Social Development MMC Eunice Mgcina remained unchanged.

Also retained in their portfolios are Group Corporate Shared Services MMC Loyiso Masuku, Community Development MMC Margaret Arnolds, Development Planning MMC Thapelo Amad and Public Safety MMC Mally Mokoena.

The choice of MMCs is in support of the theme of continuation with the implementation of the GLU’s priorities, which are aligned to the Joburg Growth and Development Strategy (GDS) 2040 and ongoing Government of Local Unity (GLU) partnership in the City.

ANC- is in coalition with other small political parties.

Image (The new Mayor of Joburg Jolidee Matongo seen with the Speaker of CoJ Council Nonceba Molwele. The Mayor made small changes to his ‘cabinet’ today).

Related posts

‘Sprinters’ journey cut short following the arrest of Louis Tshakoane


Safari Plain Lodge invites you to experience ambience and stunning retreat


Its time for youngsters at this years’ Inanda Dev Cup


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.