German made wins SA award!

The top-end Boxster outnumbered twelve other finalists which also got the nod from 30 strong jury members.

Other finalists, 2012 models, were the BMW 3 Series 320i automatic; the Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4X4 double-cab diesel automatic; the Hyundai i30 1.8 Executive; the Kia Rio 1.4 TEC hatch manual; the 2012 Lexus GS 350 EX; the Mercedes-Benz B 180 CDI BlueEfficiency 7G-DCT; the Nissan Juke 1.6 DIG-T Tekna (in leather); the Opel Meriva 1.4T Cosmo; the Porsche Boxster; the Range Rover Evoque Si4 Dynamic five-door; the Toyota 86 High Spec manual; and the Toyota Yaris 1.5 HSD Xs.

Toby Venter CE at Porsche SA, said although they won the prize it was not easy considering the fierce competition from other competitors.

“We’ve put a lot of effort to market this brand owing to tight market conditions both locally and internationally.

This win came as a surprise, and we also like to thank other major players’ for their stiff competitiveness and keeping us on our toes,” he said jokingly.  

Car of the Year (Coty) which is run by the SA Guild Motoring Journalists was established in 1986, and keeps improving every season, thanks to Wesbank the vehicle finance institution.

Hollard and Motul are support sponsors.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.