Khama a good ‘karma’ as he scoops three major PSL awards!

Mamelodi Sundowns attacking midfielder Khama Billiat dominated the evening as expected by picking up three awards.

khama b
Man of the moment. Downs star Khama Billiat scooped three major awards at last nights 2015/16 PSL ceremony.

The Zimbabwean scooped Footballer of the Season, Players’ Player of the Season and the Absa Premiership’s Midfielder of the Season.

The shy but lethal star on the field took total prize money worth R450 000 (R250 000 for Footballer of the Season, R150 000 for Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season and R50 000 for Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season).

Yes, this was Sundowns’ evening as teammates Thabo Nthethe was named Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament and best Defender of the Season and Dennis Onyango was voted Absa Premiership Goalkeeper, while Pitso Mosimane picked up the Coach of the Year award.

In true spirit, the PSL champs attributed their thanks to the technical team, coach, the board and president Patrice Motsepe, who was in attendance and still in crutches.

Wonder what happened Prez?

During his presentation Minister of sport Fikile “Mbaweezeee” Mbalula made a clarion call to South African players’ that next season “as powers vested in me” shall add extra R300 000 to the player with more than 25 goals, much to the roaring applause.

This season it was won by Mpumalanga Black Aces striker Collin Mbesuma.

Here is the full list of winners:

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season – Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season – Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

No more rookies. Newly promoted Baroka FC will now battle out in the PSL campaign with big boys for big money.

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season – Thabo Nthethe (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season – Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal – Ben Motshwari (Bidvest Wits) vs Chippa: 10/01/2016

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season – Aubrey Maphosa Modiba (MP Black Aces)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National First Division Top Goal Scorer – Thabiso Kutumela (Baroka FC)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament – Thabo Nthethe (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Young Player of Tournament – Ndivhuwo Ravhuhali (Baroka FC)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament – Jeremy Brockie (SuperSport United)

MTN8 Last Man Standing – Cecil Lolo (Ajax Cape Town)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Player Of The Season – Sibusiso Sibeko (Lamontville Golden Arrows)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Top Goal Scorer – Emmanuel Letlotlo (Kaizer Chiefs)

Referee of the Season – Thando Ndzandzeka

Assistant Referee of the Season – Zakhele Siwela 

Both Raymond Hack and Mr Ngubane received Chairmans’ awards each going home with R100 000.

Related posts

Bafana will bounce back- "The Dog"


A teenager boy shot during a service delivery protest in Orange Farm!


Xtra ‘cold’ tickets made available for Castle Lite Unlocks experience


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.