Making strides in the hospitality sector

The committee is responsible for overseeing the implementation and management of the TGCSA’s grading system, South Africa’s only officially recognised system for the star grading of accommodation establishments.

Mushwana, who brings entrepreneurial flair as well as understanding of small business dynamics, is a benefit for the committee, according to the Minister.

Other appointed board members include:

Yusuf Patel, Director at Black Moon Design Studio, who brings his extensive décor and design expertise to the committee.

Amor Malan, from the QuadPara Association Gauteng and a former South African Tourism board member, who is well versed on Universal Accessibility matters.

 Nina Freysen–Pretorius, current chairperson of the Southern African Association of Conferencing Institutions (SAACI). Nina and her team assisted the TGCSA with the review and finalisation of the current Grading Criteria for the Meetings, Exhibitions and Special Events sector.

Julie Joe Madala, current owner of several catering and decor enterprises,  who has experience in the décor and catering industries.

 Caroline Ungesbock, National President of the National Accommodation Association of South Africa (NAA-SA), and an establishment owner. Caroline has vast experience in the guest accommodation sector which includes B&B’s, Guest Houses and County Houses.

Alan Romburgh, Director at the Cape Town Hotel School and a former chairman of the Awards Committee as well as having served on the outgoing awards committee. Alan provides much needed continuity on the committee. 

Jegie Padmanathan, group hotel operations and development Director at Peermont, commences his second term on the awards committee; His extensive experience in the hospitality industry bodes well for the TGCSA.

Tony Hazel, Chief Operations Officer at the Go Touch Down Resorts. Tony served on the previous awards committee where his experience in the timeshare industry was instrumental in the finalisation of the self-catering grading criteria.

Nonhlanhla Tshabalala, Owner of TMLB Architects is an architect by profession bringing her extensive experience in this sector to the awards committee.

Mark Goveia is the owner of Hospitality Grading and a current Accredited Grading Assessor with the TGCSA. Mark has worked with the Caravan and Camping as well as the Backpackers and Hostelling sectors for many years.

The board is chaired by Graham Woods, Tsogo Sun Managing Director.

The three-year term of the new Awards Committee ends on 31 May 2015.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the previous Awards committee, under the leadership of Peter Bacon, for their hard work and commitment to quality assurance in South Africa.

Thanks to their hard work and commitment, we now have a credible, globally benchmarked system of quality assurance for accommodation in South Africa, which can be relied upon by visitors when making their choice of establishment,” said Van Schalkwyk.

“I would like to congratulate the New Awards Committee on their appointment. I look forward to seeing the impact they will have on the Tourism Grading Council, and as a result the standard of South Africa’s tourism industry, over their three-year tenure.

Ensuring that South Africa’s tourism industry is on par with the best in the world is vital if we want to continue to see this sector, which is vital to the growth and development of this country, succeed and flourish in the future, “he said.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.