Mbalula-I have no idea on Meyer’s extension!

Reports had surfaced before the 2015 World Cup that SARU would offer Meyer another four years, but that has ruffled some feathers with many thinking that he is not the man for the job.

Meyer has been challenged on his transformation policies while losses to Argentina and Japan have also not helped his cause.

But despite all that, there remains a strong belief in rugby circles that Meyer is still being lined up for another four years.

But Mbalula knows nothing of this.

“I’ve got no report on my table saying that SARU have appointed a coach for another four years,” Mbalula said at a briefing in Johannesburg that discussed transformation in the Springbok squad.

“It is SARU that will determine whether a coach is hired or fired.
“The minister of sport does not make a decision as to who the coach must be.”

Mbalula added that whether the coach was “black, white or purple” it was his job to implement the transfer policies that SARU had agreed to enforce in their discussions with government.

SARU are set to discuss the World Cup and Meyer’s future at acouncil meeting to be conducted on December 4.

Meanwhile, The 2015 SA Sports Awards nominees have been revealed.

The 10th annual awards will be held in Free State on 22 November.

Here are the nominees:

Sportsman of the Year:
Greg Minnaar, Chad le Clos, Wayde van Niekerk

Sportswoman of the Year:
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Shabnim Ismail, Bridgitte Hartley

Sportsman of the Year with Disability:
Lucas Sithole, Ernst van Dyk, Pieter du Preez

Sportswoman of the Year with Disability:
Kgothatso Montjane, Ilse Hayes, Peggy de Villiers

Team of the Year:
SA Proteas, Lightweight women’s 2X, Springbok Sevens

Newcomer of the Year:
Nokwanda Hlongwane, Jayde Andrew Julius, Kagiso Rabada

Coach of the Year:
Holger Losch, Geoffrey Toyana, Roger Barrow, Graham Hill

Administrator of the Year:
Virginia Mabaso, Karen Losch, Tim Cornish

Volunteer of the Year:
Zelda Hansen, Nkosinathi Ngubane, Jeremy Campbell

Indigenous Games Star of the Year:
Limpopo Drie Stokkies Males Team, Western Cape Iintonga Team, KZN Dibeke Team

Federation of the Year:
Roller Sport, Cycling, Basketball

Recreation Body of the Year:
Isqal-Waves 4 Change, Diepsloot Mountain Bike Academy, Indigo Skate Camp

Photographer of the Year:
Gavin Barker, Veli Nhlapo, Motswari Mofokeng

Sport Journalist of the Year:
Bareng-Batho Kortjaas, Daniel Mothowagae, Mbali Mokoko

School Team of the Year:
Oakdale Agricultural High School, St John’s College, Hoërskool Waterkloof

Developing School Team of the Year:
Iqhayiya Secondary School, Montshiwa Primary School, Phayizani High School

Sports and Recreation Minister Fikile Mbalula update media on Day 5 of hosting the 3rd edition of the Orange African Nations Championship (CHAN) 2014 tournament on hosted by South Africa. 16/01/2014 Kopano Tlape GCIS
I don’t know, says Minister Fikile Mbalula.
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 07:  Kagiso Rabada of South Africa is congratulated by team mates after taking the wicket of Glenn Maxwell of Australia during game two of the International Twenty20 Series between Australia and South Africa at Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 7, 2014 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)
Kagiso Rabada has been nominated in the New Comer of the Year category for the SA Sport Awards.

Related posts

DJ SoulShaker to shake off opponents at the RedSquare DJs finale


Fake vaccines seized in Germiston


X Class not for the faint-hearted, stru!


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.