ASA new president Moloi promises new breath of life into athletics

Moloi, an athlete as well, was nominated this past weekend at the ASA Quadrennial General Meeting held at the OR Tambo Garden Court, Kempton Park on Saturday.

The soft apeaking Moloi, has been at the helm of athletics for ages and this new responsibilities come at the right time, as the federation is facing tough challenges such as sponsorships compounded by the pandemic.

He will relinquish his presidency at Central Gauteng Athletics.

Moloi, a Sowetan born, got 39 votes against Aleck Skhosana previous president- who got 27.

He will lead the federation on a four-year term.

“As a priority, we need to put our heads together as a Board and address how we can assist athletes who are preparation for the Olympics and those who are searching for qualifiers,” said Moloi.

“I would like to all thank the previous Board Members and previous Commissions for all your work in the last term.

“I thank all the provinces from the bottom of my heart for the faith you had in myself and everyone else elected alongside me. I will listen to you Provinces, because a good leader listens to advice and it will be your job to guide me. If you have problems, then talk to me.

“And if there are any issues between us, then let’s talk and resolve those matters amicably. We are going to need to find a way to assist those provinces who don’t have offices.

We will see what we do on that. My heart was sore when four of our provinces could not attend the u16-u20 Championships in Paarl because they didn’t have money to travel and accommodation. I think I will have to go out of my way and together with ASA to find them grants to enable them to attend.”

Shireen Noble is the new Vice President and she takes over from Dr Harold Adams.

The rest of the new Board Members are as follows:

  • Commissions’ Chairpersons:
  • Jean Verster (Track & Field)
  • Enoch Skosana (Road Running)
  • Jakes Jacobs (Cross Country)
  • Hendrick Mokganyetsi (Athletes Commission).
  • Additional Board Members:
  • Esther Malema (Limpopo Athletics)
  • Ntathu Gwadiso (Border Athletics)
  • Adelina Ranthimo (Athletics Free State)
  • Noma Nonkonyane (Western Province Athletics).

Motlatsi Keikabile, who had been nominated for Vice President withdrew before voting for the position started and announced her retirement from administration of Athletics, after serving the last term as a Board Member. 

Image (James Moloi- new boss at ASA).

Related posts

Green World to host the 10th founding anniversary in South Africa

Karabo MOLOI

Chief Justice: Who will ascend to the throne?


Matric exams to start October 27- dpt of education confirms


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.