MTN Radio Awards grows overwhelming!

The 2013 MTN Radio awards are about honouring those with sense of humour and at times those with irritating gestures!

Talk of power behind the MIC…  

The grand finale takes place this week at Sandton Convention Center, and already stakes are too high which station or who will walk away with the prize (s).

“With the growth interest in the MTN Radio Awards, we have substantially overshot our objective of attracting 1 000 entries,” says Lance Rothschild, CEO of the MTN Radio Awards.

“However more important than the number of entries is the fact that there was a 33% increase in the number of stations that submitted entries, taking the number of stations eligible for an award up to 68,” adds Rothschild.

So, you see radio plays a very significant role in our daily congested lives!

With the said stats, we hope to see more community radio stations up on stage this Saturday, as opposed to last year, were one station from Lenasia was recognized, gleefully. 
Ok, herewith the members of the adjudication panel for the 2013 MTN Radio Awards:       

Alan Khan  –  Former Station Manager – Jacaranda 94.2       
Amore Truter  –  MTN Radio Awards Bright Star 2012 and Station Manager PUKfm       
Andy Rice  –  Advertising and Marketing Expert       
Charlene Deacon –   Former Station Manager – Kaya FM       
Cindy Diamond  –  Sales Manager – MediaMark       
David Mashabela –   Presenter, Producer       
Deon Maas –   Author, Documentary Film Maker and TV and Radio Producer       
Dmitri Jegels –   On-air personality, media academic       
Doc Fick –   Head of Radio – NEMISA       
Ed Jordan –   MTN SAMA Award-winner, Producer and Presenter       
Gavin Meiring –   Former Station Manager – Heart 104.9       
Greg Maloka –   Station Manager – Kaya FM       
Ismail Variava –   Head of News and PRO – Radio Islam       
Jackie Phaka  –  Veteran Broadcaster and Education Policy Consultant       
James Seerane –   Treasurer of National Community Radio Forum       
Jayne Morgan –   Former BBC and SAfm Radio Producer       
Jeremy Maggs –   Co-founder of MTN Radio Awards and veteran Radio and TV broadcaster       
John Walls –   Co-founder Ultimate Media – a specialist Radio Agency       
Kate Turkington –   Broadcaster and Media Training consultant       
Koos Radebe    Founding Station Manager – Metro FM and veteran broadcaster       
Lance Rothschild –   CEO MTN Radio Awards and former Station Manager 5FM       
Matonya Sakupwunya –   General Manager – Radio Advertising Bureau South Africa       
Musa Kalenga  –  Head of Group Digital Marketing – Nedbank       
Nomahlubi Simamane –   Founder of Zanusi Brand Solutions       
Patrick Bogatsu –   Operations Manager at Gagasi 99.5FM       
Rich Mkhondo –   Chairman MTN Radio Awards       
Rob Haynes –   Media Director – Ogilvy Africa       
Selwyn Bartlett  –  Former Operations Manager – Heart 104.9 FM       
Tim Modise –   Veteran broadcaster       
Tim Zunkel –   MTN Radio Awards Bright Star 2012 and Programme Manager – 5FM       
Tinyiko Maluleke –   Veteran broadcaster and media academic       
Tony Lankester –   CEO – National Arts Festival       
Treasure Tshabalala  –  Veteran broadcaster       
Zaid Bhoola –  MTN Radio Awards Bright Star 2012 and Presenter – Lotus FM       
Zandile Nzalo –  Former presenter and producer for several radio and television stations      

Tickets to the awards are available from Taryn Westoby on 011 803 2040 or taryn@mtnradioawards.com or visit www.mtnradioawards.com.

It starts from 6pm.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.