Motoring jurors pick Porsche Macan S for 2015 title!

Held at Gallager Estate, Midrand, for the third time consecutively Porsche is still holding on the fort.

In 2013 came Boxster, followed by Cayman S in 2014 and last night, Porsche Macan S Diesel wrapped it up.

And yes, the atmosphere was palpable following the tightly contested affair.

The vehicles are put through their paces at the Gerotek test facility in Gauteng, after which each of the 28 South African Guild of Motoring Journalists jury members vote for a winner. Each juror is given 50 points to divide between at least seven vehicles and may not allocate more than 10 points to any one vehicle.

To make the competition fully transparent, the SAGMJ has promised to make each juror’s votes public in the days following the announcement.

In our table, a representative from another manufacture almost lost it, when the announcement was made, hinting the awards should be known as “SA motor of the Year” an obvious reference to what happened, considering Porsche is an international brand.

Another motoring scribe from a weekend newspaper suggested the jurors should be alternated.

Yes, with such outcomes various views/opinions will come out…   

These were the 2015 finalists, in alphabetical order:

Audi A3 Sedan 1.4T FSI SE S Tronic

BMW M4 Coupe AT

Citroen C4 Picasso e-HDi 115 Intensive

Honda Accord 3.5 V6 Exclusive

Lexus ES 250 EX

Mercedes-Benz C 200 AT

Nissan Qashqai 1.6 dCi Acenta AT

Porsche Macan S Diesel

Renault Duster 1.5dCi Dynamique AWD

Subaru WRX Premium

Toyota Corolla 1.4 D-4D Prestige

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.