SAB Sports awards entries now open!

The South African Breweries (SAB) has announced entries have opensab imageed for the 35th Annual SAB Sports Media Awards with an additional Converged Media category added to the competition.

This new award will reward sports journalists who report across a variety of media channels including social media.

“This is something we have wanted to implement for a while now and we’re thrilled to be able to include it this year,” says Robyn Chalmers, Head of Corporate Communications at SAB.

“In recent years, the Awards have been about constant evolution and inclusion and this category certainly epitomises that philosophy.”

Entrants in the Converged Media category need to show competence and excellence across two of the four main SAB Sports Media Awards categories as well as using at least two social media platforms for amplification.

In order to accommodate this new award, the Social Media Correspondent of the Year sub-category falls away.

The categories for the SAB Sports Media Awards 2015 are:

– *Audio Media Award* (Radio and Online)
– *Converged Media Award *
– *Photography Award* (Print and Online)
– *Video Media Award* (Television and Online)
– *Written Media Award* (Print and Online)

*The Newcomer of The Year for *sports journalists with less than
two years’ experience in the Industry.

*Sports Personality of the Year*

*Sports Media Hall of Fame*

All Main category winners will receive a cash prize of 30,000 while merit winners each receive R3, 000. The winner of the Newcomer of the Year will receive R15, 000 prize money, while the Sports Personality of the Year and Sports Media Hall of Fame inductees do not receive a monetary prize.

“As fast as the media industry is changing, so are these awards,” continues Chalmers.

“And through constant engagement with past winners, judges and the Industry we can ensure a competition that is not only world-class, but also recognises world-class sports journalism.”

Entrants for the SAB Sports Media Awards 2015 should submit work produced between 1st October 2014 and 30th September 2015 through the Online Awards Portal at

Entries open at 08:00am on Wednesday 26th August 2015 and close at 17:00 on Friday, 2nd October 2015.

Winners will be announced at an awards’ evening on Tuesday, 24th November 2015 Wanderers Club, Johannesburg.

*For more information please visit:

Related posts

Catch hilarious comedians at the Soweto Theatre!

Karabo MOLOI

SAFA’s boss under fire, as Soweto derby lives to expectations


Joburg to host for the very first time the MAMAs!


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.