The Rule-Book to shape this year's SA Sport Awards nominees!

As  a sign of commitment from the organisers, today at Montecasino in Fourways, the chairman of the Awards Committee and South African Tennis Association President Bongani “Wire” Zondi, presented to the media what is called a Rule Book.

The purpose of the Rule Book is to give guidelines, follow code of conducts and provide confidential clause (s) to the adjucators who will oversee the nomination processes.

According to Zondi, the public voting opened post the media launch last month for nominees, however, he emphasized that on September 26 the Awards Commitee will present to the National Minister of Sport and Recreation Fikile Mbalula, the list of nominees which upon approval would then announce the finalists to the public on October 4.

“We’ve had our job cut-out following tremendous input from all federations and the sporting department,” says the clean-shaven Zondi.

Only three new categories have been added to the list to make it nineteen.
“Having said that, we encourage public participation and to send their voting before the deadline.”

He pointed out that new categories both Schools Sport and Federations/Affiliates categories of which schools and sporting organizations must vote for their respective person (s) and the school, would encourage greater participation.

“The School’s category should be voted for the school which has excelled locally, provincially and nationally, “says Zondi.

Asked, who are the auditors of the awards, Zondi confirmed to Sowetolife Magazine Online, that the little known Indybo Chartered Accountants has been appointed.

The ultimate Sport Star of the Year winner this year collects a cool R1m and luxurious BMW which is for keeps, following reports that a staggering R3,7m has been made available for the awards. All nominees receive R10 000 each.

Below are categories:

1 School Team of the year (New Category)
2 Developing School Team of the Year (New Category)
3 Best Recreation Body of the Year (New category)
4 Administrator of the Year
5 Sportsman of the Year
6 Sportsman of the Year with disability
7 Sportswoman of the year
8 Sportswoman of the year with disability
9 Team of the year
10 Newcomer of the year
11 Coach of the year
12 Volunteer of the Year
13 Indigenous games star of the year
14 Federation of the year
15 Photographer of the year
16 Journalist of the year
17 Sports Star of the year
18 Steve Tshwete lifetime achievement
19 Minister’s Awards ( Andrew Mlangeni Green Jacket, Excellence Awards & Ambassadors Awards)

For more information visit the website at www.sasportsawards.com, or follow them on Twitter at @SASportsAwards.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.