As expected finance minister fired in cabinet reshuffle!

In the biggest move‚ finance minister Pravin Gordhan was axed and

Cabinet reshuffle. Pres JG Zuma did the unthinkable by firing finance minister Pravin Gordhan in his cabinet reshuffle.

replaced by Malusi Gigaba‚ formerly the home affairs head honcho.

Zuma also fired Tina Joemat-Petterson and replaced her with ANC MP Mmamoloko Nkhensani Kubayi as energy minister. Kubayi was an ANC proportional representative councillor in Johannesburg from 2006 to 2009‚ and also the chairperson of portfolio committee on transport during the same period.

She also served in the ANC Youth League‚ as a Provincial Executive Council (PEC) member in Gauteng.

Dipuo Peters got the chop from the transport minister’s post and was replaced by an ANC PEC member from Limpopo‚ Joe Maswanganyi. In 2015 he was moved from the Limpopo executive and sent to parliament. At the time he was touted for a cabinet position.

Public service and administration minister Ngoako Ramahlodi was axed and replaced with Faith Muthambi. Muthambi was replaced in communications by Ayanda Dlodlo‚ who served as Ramathlodi’s deputy.

Derek Hanekom has been fired from the tourism portfolio and replaced by his deputy‚ Thoko Xasa.

Despite being at the helm of the social grants payment debacle‚ Bathabile Dlamini survived Zuma’s latest axe swinging.

In a statement issued after midnight‚ Zuma said: “I have decided to make changes to the National Executive in order to improve efficiency and effectiveness.

The changes bring some younger MPs and women into the National Executive in order to benefit from their energy‚ experience and expertise.

I have directed the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers to work tirelessly with their colleagues to bring about radical socio-economic transformation and to ensure that the promise of a better life for the poor and the working class becomes a reality.”

Here’s an easy-to-understand list of who got chopped‚ who got shifted and who will be breathing a sigh of relief this morning:

Energy — Tina Joemat-Pettersson‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi
Finance — Pravin Gordhan‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Malusi Gigaba
Public Service and Administration — Ngoako Ramatlhodi FIRED and REPLACED by Faith Muthambi
Tourism — Derek Hanekom‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Tokozile Xasa
Transport — Dipuo Peters‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Joe Maswanganyi

Communications — Faith Muthambi‚ REPLACED by Ayanda Dlodlo and MOVED to Public Service and Administration
Home Affairs — Malusi Gigaba‚ REPLACED by Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize and MOVED to Finance
Public Works — Thembelani Nxesi‚ REPLACED BY Nathi Nhleko and MOVED to Sports and Recreation
Police — Nathi Nhleko‚ REPLACED by Fikile Mbalula and MOVED to Public Works
Sports and Recreation — Fikile Mbalula‚ REPLACED by Thembelani Nxesi and MOVED to Police

Health — Aaron Motsoaledi
Basic Education — Angie Motshekga
Social Development — Bathabile Dlamini
Higher Education – Blade Nzimande
State security — David Mahlobo
Cooperative Governance — Des van Rooyen
Economic Development — Ebrahim Patel
Environmental Affairs — Edna Molewa
Rural Development — Gugile Nkwinti
Planning‚ Monitoring and Development — Jeff Radebe
Human Settlements — Lindiwe Sisulu
Public Enterprises — Lynne Brown
International Relations — Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Justice — Michael Masutha
Labour — Mildred Oliphant
Mineral Resources — Mosebenzi Zwane
Science and Technology — Naledi Pandor
Arts and Culture — Nathi Mthethwa
Water and Sanitation — Nomvula Mokonyane
Defence — Nosiziwe Mapisa-Nqakula
Trade and Industry — Rob Davies
Agriculture‚ Fisheries and Forestry — Senzeni Zokwana
Telecommunication and Postal Services — Siyabonga Cwele
Women in the Presidency — Susan Shabangu

Related posts

Cars, taxis experience mayhem in City of Joburg


DNG Energy unveils liquefied natural gas truck to the world


Win a Samsung Galaxy S9 worth R15 999


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.