Hard working cops honoured

Among the SAPS personnel honoured was the late Constable Bongani Dhlamini who, together with Sergeant Maurice Moloi, was instrumental in the capture of the notorious Facebook rapist.

The four nominees in each of the nine contested categories included permanent SAPS members, civilians, reservists, volunteers and community police forum members from throughout the Ekurhuleni district.

The Awards attracted 170 entries this year.

Constable Dhlamini and Sergeant Moloi from Brackendowns SAPS were both nominated for Top Cop for the role they played in apprehending the man dubbed the Facebook rapist.

He taunted police for months before he was finally arrested in Alberton in Octoberlast year. He is currently in prison on several charges of kidnap and rape and one of murder.

Constable Dhlamini sadly passed away on the 5th March, however his memory was honoured with a special merit award presented to him posthumously.

Sergeant Moloi was similarly awarded.

Here is complete list of awards:

Best Visible Police Member and Top Cop

The award for Best Visible Police Member as well as Top Cop went to Constable Pillay from the North East Rand Dog Unit.

Best Reservist (Actonville Cst) A.M.

Latif Actonville Constable Latif was named the Best Reservist for outstanding work in the community and for his involvement in the arrest of criminals for, murder, ATM-bombings and police killings.

Best Volunteer

Oupa Thobejane from Vosloorus was named Best Volunteer.

Best Community Police Forum

Mr Selvan Naidoo, Chairperson of the Actonville-Wattville Community Police Forum accepted the Best Community Police Forum Award on behalf of them.

Best Crime and or Communication Member

Captain Maome from Primrose was named Best Crime and/or Communication Member.

Best Detective Detective Warrant Officer

Seema from Boksburg North walked off with the Award for Best Detective.

Best Support Service Member and/or Civilian Brakpan Administration Clerk

Shaun Hansen received the Award for Best Support Service Member and/or Civilian.

Best Team

Tembisa Detectives – Five members Cst, Ndlovu, Mashaita, Rapaledi,Ramallo, Rakgogo and Detective Cst, Mohlaloganyi.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.