Its sweet 16 for Metro FM music awards!

Man of the moment and new entrant. Sjava has been nominated in three categories for the MMA 2017.

Last night the country and the entertainment industry were fed with oohs and aahs as nominees were announced. And yes, as expected controversy was galore.

For the fifth time eThekweni Municipality will once again play host of the awards on February 25 2017 at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli Int’l Convention Center, Durban.

One would have mistaken the nominees ceremony was the actual event; as guests and artists came dressed to the nines. What also added to the ceremony was palpable performance from artists themselves. Yes, our artists know how Rock, stru!

As indicated in my second stanza, controversy was abound with the unexpected exclusion of Van Damme hitmaker Mroza, who made headlines when he scooped the SABC Summer Song of the Year and globetrotter Black Coffee etc…

But as a legend has it, the show has to go on.

In her welcoming speech Metro FM boss Sibongile Mtyali said: “In 2016 we are still being legendary but this time around we are not just proclaiming ‘Legends Don’t Stop, They Ask What’s Next’, we are solidifying that statement by anchoring it, by pronouncing, ‘What’s Next Is All that Matters’.

Now, it’s time to push harder than ever before, to learn lessons, to shatter those glass ceilings and be better than your best.”

The upcoming musical star Sjava born Jabulani Hadebe originally from KwaZulu-Natal, has been nominated in three categories: African Pop Album, New artist and Hip Hop.

His top selling hits “Ek’seni” and “Uthando” and other fourteen more songs, has catapulted this young and fully bearded star career in the music industry.

Speaking exclusively to this reporter immediately after the announcement, the unassuming Sjava said the nominations are an indication that he’s doing what the public wants.

“I’m a God sent. Everyone has a story to tell in terms of upbringing and my story is no different. To be here and being recognized by your peers shows hard work, discipline and God fearing will get you anywhere,” he said resemblance in his trademark spectacles.

“Albeit, I never met the late uMama Thandi Klaasen, I’m proud for having lived during her era, listened and influenced by her music. May her Soul rest in Peace. The music industry is poorer without mama,” commented Sjava, in his message of condolences to the Klassen family.

Here is the full list of nominees:

African Pop Album
Amanda Black
Vusi Nova
Soul Kulture

Ms Pru — Ameni
Bucie — Rejpice
DJ Speesta — Mayo
Kwesta — Mayibabo

Compilation Album
DJ Tokzen
DJ Qness
DJ Fresh

Dance Album
Babes Wodumo
Dr Malinga
Mobi Dixon
DJ Merlon

Female Album
Amanda Black
Babes Wodumo
Kelly Khumalo
Lebo Sekgobela
Brenda Mntambo

Group Album
Jeziel Brothers
The Soil
Soul Kulture
Durbans Finest

Hit Single
Citi Lyts — Vura
Riky Rick — Sidlukotini
AKA — One Time
Ms Pru -Ameni
DJ Speedsta — Mayo

Hip Hop
A Reece
Nasty C
DJ Slique

Mshoza — Abantu Bam
L’vovo — Amatin tin
Vetkoek and Mahoota — Sohamba ngo7
Sosha — Good Times

Male Album
Nasty C
Mobi Dixon
A Reece

Music Video
Duboiz — Dope Dream
Benchmarq- All on Me
Khuli Chana — One Source
Mafikizolo- Kucheza
Anatii — Jump

New Artist
Babes Wodumo
Nasty C
Amanda Black
Soul Kulture

Urban Gospel Albums

Another new kids on the block. Soul Kulture-for the very first time -has been nominated more than twice as well.

Dr Tumi — Love & Grace
Lebo Sekgobela — Restored
Joyous Celebration. Joyous 20
We will Worship — Mmuso
Khaya Mthethwa- The Dawn

Urban Jazz Album
Jimmy Dludla
Brenda Mntambo
Hugh Masekela
Henry Philemon

R& B Single
Amanda Black
Charlie Mindgames

DJ Ganyani — Talk to me
Prince Kaybee — Don’t Give Up
Thee Lagacy — Wena Wedwa
Bob“Ezy — Close To You
Thee Lagacy — Sthandwa Sami

One Africa Award
Vee Mampeezy
Tiwa Savage
Kommanda Obbs

Song of the Year
Babes Wodumo — Wololo
Musa ft Robbie Malinga — Mthande
Kwesta — Ngudu
Amanda Black — Amazulu
Dr Malinga — Akulaleki
Durban’s Finest ft Professor- Unsindo
King Monada — Ska Bhora Moreki
Lebo Sekhobela — Lion of Juda
Black Motion — Imali

This officially opened the voting lines for the public to vote for their favorite artist/s in the various categories. Voting lines open to the public at midnight on the 17 January 2017 and close at 23:59 on the 12 February 2017 via the official USSD line *120*1512# .

Voting for Song of the Year will close on the night of the awards. USSD rates will be charged at R1.50 per minute.




Related posts

RedSquare Dance competition returns. Its bolder and feisty. Ayishe ‘teki


Mbeki denies Malema’s plot allegations


End of the rate hiking cycle, Kganyago says ‘hell no’


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.