Pres Ramaphosa’s cabinet reshuffle solicit various opinions

Foot soldier. Bheki Cele (Ndosi) has been re-appointed as minister of Police.

David Mabuza will be sworn as deputy to President Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa, following last night’s cabinet reshuffle.

As expected, it raised eye brows after a lengthy delay resulting in speculators indicating that it could be a result of consultation purposes.

When it finally happened, 10 ministers lost their portfolios and new faces came to the fore.

Disappointingly, Bathabile Dlamini (whose name means happy) has been appointed minister in the Office of Presidency responsible for Wome

n, a move unwelcomed by many, including yours truly.

Despite being the president of ANCWL, surely as Ramaphosa reviews his cabinet the axe will fall on her, don’t say we didn’t warn you though.

Opposition parties and civil society are also unhappy with a number of other ministers who have been retained, including Nomvula Mokonyane (Communications) and Malusi Gigaba back at Home Affairs.

Here is the full list:

  • Communications:  Nomvula Mokonyane

    Taking over the reigns. Mme Naledi Pandor has been shifted to oversee the troubled education ministry.
  • Energy: Jeff Radebe
  • Higher Education and Training: Naledi Pandor
  • Home Affairs: Malusi Gigaba
  • Human Settlements: Nomaindia Mfeketo
  • International Relations and Cooperation: Lindiwe Sisulu
  • Mineral Resources: Gwede Mantashe
  • Police: Bheki Cele
  • Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan
  • Public Service and Administration: Ayanda Dlodlo
  • Public Works:  Thulas Nxesi
  • Rural Development and Land Reform:  Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
  • Science and Technology: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane
  • Social Development: Susan Shabangu
  • Sport and Recreation: Tokozile Xasa
  • State Security: Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
  • The Presidency: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  • The Presidency: Women: Bathabile Dlamini
  • Tourism: Derek Hanekom
  • Transport: Dr Blade Nzimande
  • Water and Sanitation: Gugile Nkwinti

With respect to Deputy Ministers, Ramaphosa said he had made the following changes:

  • Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: Sfiso Buthelezi
  • Communications: Pinky Kekana
  • Finance: Mondli Gungubele
  • Public Service and Administration: Dr Chana Pilane-Majeke
  • Small Business Development: Cassel Mathale

“The positions of Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises and Deputy Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation will remain vacant,” he said.

Pending the completion of their swearing-in as Members of the National Assembly, he said he intended to further appoint:

  • David Mabuza as the Deputy President of the Republic
  • Dr Zweli Mkhize as Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
  • Nhlanhla Nene as Minister of Finance
  • Reginah Mhaule as Deputy Minister of International Relations and Cooperation

The new Ministers and Deputy Ministers will be sworn in today in Cape Town.

“I wish to express my appreciation to all outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers for their service to government and to the people of South Africa.”

The full list of ministers who have been fired:

Mosebenzi Zwane (mineral resources)

Lynne Brown (public enterprises)

Joe Maswanganyi (transport)

Des van Rooyen (cooperative governance and traditional affairs)

Faith Muthambi (public service and administration)

David Mahlobo (energy)

Hlengiwe Mkhize (higher education)

Fikile Mbalula (police)

Nkosinathi Nhleko (public works)

Bongani Bongo (state security)

The ANC welcomed the “changes to the National Executive of the Republic of SA announced by the President Ramaphosa as he exercised, his constitutional responsibilities, in line with Section 91 of the constitution to appoint the deputy President, ministers and deputy ministers”.

Related posts

Sport minister resigns after court appearance


Chery Tiggo 8 Pro- SA first right hand -drive country in the world


Basha Uhuru fest (not yet freedom) ends youth month programme


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.