Pres Zuma to honour international jazz promoter!

 It will be presented by State President Jacob Gedleyehlekisa Zuma on April 27 at the Union Buildings, Pretoria.

 The President will also honour no fewer than 54 recepients.

Lombard, who is the former political photojournalist and cultural activist founded what was then North Sea Jazz fest in the year 2000, which today is internationally known as Cape Town International Jazz Festival (CTIJF).

The hardworking but humble Rashid said: “I am overwhelmed by the honour accorded to me by the Ikhamanga Award. I shall use it to continue to make my contribution as I have always done, to the development of the arts and my country.

This is what drives me and gives purpose to my life. I thank the State President. I also thank all those who have been part of this journey and who made it possible for me to receive this honour,” quipped the ponytail “jazz master”.

Meanwhile, the national orders were presented to South African and foreign nationals for outstanding work benefiting the country, whether through acts of bravery or community service, Chancellor of the National Orders Cassius Lubisi said.

This year’s ceremony would be held under the theme “South Africa, a better place to live in”.

Orders would be presented in bronze, silver, and gold for varying degrees of achievement.

The Order of Mendi for Bravery (bronze), would go to Elizabeth Barrett — for saving 14 children from a burning house and her services to orphans and street children.

Russel Maphanga would be bestowed the Order of Mendi (silver) for fighting for the rights of workers and the liberation of the people of South Africa.

Indres Elatchininatha Naidoo would be honoured for his fight against unjust apartheid laws, and Reggie Vandeyar for striving for a free and democratic South Africa.

The bronze Order of Ikhamanga would be bestowed on Olympic runner Caster Semenya.

Olympic swimmer Cameron van der Burgh would receive the order in silver, amongst him Lombard, Lindiwe Mabuza, paralympic athlete Fanie van der Merwe, novelist Zakes Mda, Victor Ntoni, Sandra Prinsloo, disabled tennis star Lucas Sithole, and soccer coach Ephraim Jomo Sono.

The Order of the Baobab in bronze would go to Tshepo Khumbane and Abraham September.

The order in silver would be bestowed on Raymond Ackerman, Chris Ball, Alex Boraine, Katrina Esau, Dawid Kruiper, and Frederick van Zyl Slabbert.

The bronze Order of Luthuli would go to Mittah Seperepere, Abdulhay Jassat, Wolfie Kodesh, Father Smangaliso Mkhatshwa, Popo Molefe, Zephania Lekwame Mothopeng, Agnes Msimang, Jeanette Schoon, Zola Skweyiya, Frances Baard, David Bopape, Ruth First, Sir Bob Hepple Abdullar Haron, and Florence Matomela.

The bronze Order of Mapungubwe would go to Dr Namrita Lall and the silver order to Professor Ismail Mohamed, Professor Simon Hendrik Schaaf, Professor Barry David Schoub, and Dr William Soga.

The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo in silver would be bestowed on Lord Richard Attenborough, Professor Gwendolen Margaret Carter, Jeanne Martin Cissé, Jerry David Dammers, Danny Glover, Quincy Jones, Thomas Karis, Lord Neil Kinnock, Alexander Moumbaris, Ruth Neto, and Alfre Ette Woodard. 


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.