Presidential Inauguration plans on-going despite media struggling to obtain accreditations

DESPITE media struggling to be accredited, preparations are under way for President Cyril Matamela Ramaphosa’s inauguration, for his second term, in the 7th administration.

The ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, June 19 at the Union Buildings in Pretoria.

Since early this morning, both local and international press converged at the media center to be accredited in time for the inauguration but instead, they were taken from pillar to post.

This angered many journos who threatened to report the organisers to South African National Editors Forum (SANEF) for such despicable behaviour.

At the time of publishing it was unclear if journos were finally accredited, since the organising team did not respond for a comment.

However, plans are afoot and road closure details have been shared, including OR Tambo International Aiport routes that will be affected because of high volume of invited guests who will be using the OR Tambo Int’l for arrivals.

Minister in the Presidency, Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, said the ceremony will be held at the Union Buildings Amphitheatre and its South Lawns from 9am.

“The President-Elect will be sworn-in by the Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, Justice Raymond Zondo and he will take an Oath or Affirmation which text is included in Schedule 2 of the Constitution,” she said.

The ceremonial elements will include, a 21-gun salute, a salute flight by the South African Air Force, inspection of a South African National Defence Force battalion, a Battalion march past, and a massed fly past, thereafter the newly sworn-in President of the Republic will deliver his Inaugural Address.

Road closures around the Union Buildings will be implemented from 3am on Wednesday until 6am on Thursday. Motorists are advised to avoid affected streets and use alternative routes; Pretorius Street, Park Street, Du Toit Street, Greef Street, Frederika Street and Justice Mahomed Street.

The President was re-elected last week at the first sitting of the National Assembly following the country’s May 29 elections.

He secured 283 votes against Economic Freedom Fighters leader Julius Malema, who received 44 votes from Members of Parliament (MPs).

Related posts

New BSA boss to restore stability and credibility of this much dented sport!


Health Minister Dr Mkhize put in ‘ICU’ following Digital Vibes matter


Glen Lewis to debut on KAYA 959 next week


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.