PSL 2020/21 champs Downs’ dominate PSL awards

Sundowns teammates Peter Shalulile and Themba Zwane will battle it out for the footballer and players’ player of the season awards, with Maritzburg United’s Thabiso Kutumela also nominated into the two big categories.

Zwane is the reigning footballer of the season and has again been a star for Sundowns, who are set to lift a fourth straight Premiership title.

Thabiso Kutumela of Maritzburg United is also nominated for the player’s player of the season award.

Shalulile, the 27-year-old Namibian international joined Sundowns after Highlands Park sold their top-flight status to TS Galaxy and hit the ground running and has, up to this point, bagged 15 goals and seven assists in domestic competitions for the Brazilians. He is just three goals behind the league’s top scorer Bradley Grobler.

Four of the 15 goals Shalulile has scored domestically this season were netted in the Nedbank Cup, which is why he has also been nominated for the competition’s player of the tournament award, alongside Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila pair Washington Arubi and Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo.

Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango has been nominated for the goalkeeper of the season award with Veli Mothwa and Sifiso Mlungwana, the players from AmaZulu and Golden Arrows respectively.

Onyango’s teammate Mosa Lebusa is up for the defender of the season award, competing with Swallows FC’s Njabulo Ngcobo and Tapelo Xoki of AmaZulu.

For the midfielder of the season award, Sundowns pair Rivaldo Coetzee and Zwane are up against Makhehlene Makhaula of AmaZulu.


PSL Footballer of the Season

Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United)

Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)

(Coach of the Season nominee- Arrows coach Mandla Ncikazi).

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DSTV Premiership: 

Player’s Player of the Season

Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United)

Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Coach of the Season

Benni McCarthy (AmaZulu)

Manqoba Mngqithi & Rulani Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Mandla Ncikazi (Golden Arrows)

Goalkeeper of the Season

Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows)

Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defender of the Season

Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Njabulo Ngcobo (Swallows FC)

Tapelo Xoki (AmaZulu)

Midfielder of the Season

Rivaldo Coetzee (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Makhehlene Makhaula (AmaZulu)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Season

Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United)

Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy)

Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC)


Last Man Standing

Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates)

Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Ben Motshwari (Orlando Pirates)

Nedbank Cup: 

Player of the Tournament

Washington Arubi (Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila)

Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo (Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila)

Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Most Promising Player of the Tournament

Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs)

Khanyisa Mayo (Richards Bay)

Moloisane Mokhele (Chippa United)

Thabiso Kutumela of Maritzburg United nominated in the Player of the Season award category).

Related posts

DJ Deepee wants to follow in the footsteps of former RedSquare female winner!


SARU says its happy with the transformation charter in rugby


Boston Education Trust invites Black females to apply for 20 bursaries available


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.