Team SA announcement bound for Rio Olympics on point!

This was confirmed at the final team announcement today, following concerns on the virus and what impact it would have on the athletes.

Ready for Rio. Team SA was unveiled today at SASCOC House, Johannesburg.

“We’ve been updated on the virus by our counterparts in Brazil and what we can confirm is that, all is under control so far,” says Tubby Reddy SASCOC CE and Chef de Mission.

“Athletes are not worried about it, however, we have a strong team of medico to handle any unforeseen situation should the need arise. Simply put, everyone is looking forward to the games and bringing back medals,” he said.

Asked if the withdrawal of male Golf players is a cause of concern, the upbeat Reddy said it’s unfortunate but that has not deterred the team.

“Psychologically everyone is ready.”

His sentiments were also echoed by marathon runner Lebo Phalula, who has been selected in the team.

“I’m ready since I began my rigorous training in January. Other things that does not concern me such as the Zika virus will be handled by our capable and strong medico team,” says Lebo, who will compete in the Women’s Marathon.

“For me its about representing my country well and if, I do get a medal it will be a bonus,” she responded when asked how many medals will she be bringing back home.

The lanky athlete also sent her message of recovery to parents of sensational 2010 London Olympics Gold medal winner Chad le Clos, who recently have been diagnosed with cancer.

The full team, including Disable squad will comprise of 137 athletes that also carries physiotherapists, technical, managers and Doctors.

Kaizer Chiefs’ duo Eric Mathoho and ‘keeper Itumeleng Khune are also part of the under 23 men’s football squad, that allows four over aged players to feature.

Following last minute announcement of sponsors, all medalists at both Olympic and Paralympic Games will receive incentives as follows:

Gold R500 000 Athlete R400 000 Coach R100 000

Silver R 250 000 Athlete R 200 000 Coach R 50 000

Bronze R100 000 Athlete R 80 000 Coach  R20 000

In the event a medal is won by a team event or relay team which counts as one medal, the incentive amount will also be as follows:

Athlete      Coach

Gold      R500 000  R400 000 R100 000

Silver R250 000 R 200 000 R 50 000

Forging ahead. Marathon sensation Lebo Phalula says its her dream to do good in Rio.

Bronze R100 000 R80 000  R20 000

80% of the incentive amount received will be paid to the athlete and must be equally split between the teams or relay team athlete. And 20% of the incentive amount will be paid to the head coach of that specific sport code.

Deputy Minister of sport and recreation Gert Oosthuizen also lent support to the team.

“You have earned the ultimate honour of representing you country, and as the department and Government, we feel honoured to have you as our representatives at the Olympics.

Attending the Olympics is the pinnacle of every sportsman’s dream. Represent us well off and on the field and bring us those medals. We have the kitty for that,” he said.

The Paralympic team will be unveiled soon. Assembling of TSA is on July 21 and leaves for Rio on 23.

A send off Gala dinner will be held as well.

The official Olympic team campaign is #TeamSArise

Full SA team for the 2016 Olympics:


Diving: Julia Vincent

Marathon swim: Michelle Weber, Chad Ho


Chad le Clos, Jarred Crous, Dylan Bosch, Calvyn Justus, Cameron van der Burgh, Sebastien Rousseau, Michael Meyer, Christopher Reid, Matthew Meyer, Myles Brown, Bradley Tandy, Douglas Erasmus

Managers/Coaches: Shawn Adriaanse, Graham Hill, Dean Price, Cedric Finch, Igor Omeltchenko, William Sherritt, Alasdair Hatfield


Women (marathon): Irvette Van Zyl, Christine Kalmer, Lebo Phalula

Men (marathon): Lusapho April, Sibusiso Mzima, Lungile Gongqa


Carina Horn, Alyssa Conley, Tsholofelo Thipe, Justine Palframan, Caster Semenya, Wenda Nel, Dominique Scott, Lynique Prinsloo, Sunette Viljoen, Anel Oosthuizen


Akani Simbine, Henricho Bruintjies, Tlotliso Leotlela, Clarence Munyai, Anaso Jobodwana, Wayde van Niekerk, Jacob Rozani, Rynhardt van Rensburg, Elroy Gelant, Stephen Mokoka, Antonio Alkana, Lindsay Hanekom, Louis van Zyl, Le Roux Hamman, Ruswahl Samaai, Luvo Manyonga, Stefan Brits, Khotso Mokoena, Rocco van Rooyen, Willem Coertzen, Lebogang Shange, Wayne Snyman, Marc Mundell

Managers/Coaches: Irma Reyneke, Paul Gorries, Terseus Liebenberg, Maryna van Niekerk, Pieter Lourens and James Moloi



Jacob Maliekal

Manager/Coach: Chris Dedman



Bridgitte Hartley

Manager/Coach: Craig Mustard


Women: An-Li Kachelhoffer, Ashleigh Moolman- Pasio


Daryl Impey, Louis Meintjes, Kyle Dodd, Alan Hatherly, James Reid

Manager/Coach/Mechanics: Brett Coates, Jonnathan Chislett, Carl Pasio, Douglas Ryder, JP Jacobs, Gary Blem



Tanya Seymour

Manager/Coach: Ingeborg Sanne

Groom: Kirsty Taylor



Roxanne Barker, Amanda Dlamini, Andile Dlamini, Refiloe Jane, Bambanani Mbane, Mamello Makhabane, Stephanie Malherbe, Noko Matlou, Sanah Mollo, Robyn Moodaly, Linda Motlhalo, Octavia Nogwanya, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Lebohang Ramalepe, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Leandra Smeda, Janine Van Wyk, Nothando Vilakazi
Managers/Coaches: Barney Kujane, Vera Pauw, Desiree Ellis, Francis Chansa, Shilene Margaret Booysen


Jody February, Itumeleng Khune, Ishmael Mngonyama, Rivaldo Coetzee, Abbubaker Mobara, Mothobi Mvala, Erick Mathoho, Tebogo Moerane, Tercious Malepe, Gift Motupa, Maphosa Modiba, Deolin Mekoa, Phumlani Ntshangase, Keagan Dolly, Tyroane Sandows, Lebogang Mothiba, Menzi Masuka, Tashreeq Morris
Managers/Coaches: Levy Ramajoe, Owen da Gama, Thabo Senong, Predikumar Bhaktawer, Simone Conley



Paula Reto, Ashleigh Simon


Brandon Stone, Jaco van Zyl

Golf Caddies

Chris Simmons, Jason Reynolds, Deon Flowers, David Buhai

Manager/Coach: Gary Player


Men’s Artistic Gymnastics

Ryan Patterson

Manager/Coach: Jonathan Okada



Zack Piontek

Manager/Coach: Nikola Filipov



Kirsten McCann, Kate Christowitz, Ursula Grobler, Lee-Ann Persse


James Thompson, John Smith, Shaun Keeling, Lawrence Brittain, Jake Green, David Hunt, Vincent Breet, Jonathan Smith

Manager/Coach: Roger Barrow, Andrew Grant, Paul Jackson



Dylan Sage, Philippus Snyman, Timothy Agaba, Albertus Smith, Werner Kok, Kyle Brown, Cheslin Kolbe, Rosko Specman, Justin Geduld, Cecil Afrika, Seabelo Senatla, Juan De Jongh
Manager/Coach: Ashley Evert, Neil Powell, Renfred Dazel, Alan Temple-Jones



Stefano Marcia, Asenathi Jim, Roger Hudson

Manager/Coach: Brevan Thompson



Gillian Sanders, Mari Rabie


Richard Murray, Henri Schoeman

Manager/Coach: Kate Roberts, Lindsey Parry


Chief Medical Officer: Dr Kevin Subban

Doctors: Danielle Lincoln; Paul Maphoto, Karen Schwabe

Chief Physiotherapist: Grace Hughes

Physiotherapists: Hugh Everson, Ashleigh Hansen, Collin Hill, Avilarsh Lukhan, Given Motha, Hendrik Maree, Rannoa Ntseke, Eva Ramashala and Sandhya Silal

Related posts

This evening Bathabile Dlamini should appoint POSA as grants distributors or else…


IAAF impose new rules on Caster, see if she cares?


Fire sparked by loadshedding contained at Standard Bank head office


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.