The SA Music Awards turn 21 this year, but it seems the struggle continues!

Fans and musicians know them as the Samas, but new award chairperson Refiloe Ramogase says “the time for nicknames is over”.

“At 21, you are expected to define yourself in your world, and this is what we are doing,” Ramogase said.

“The Samas are the definitive awards in South Africa and winning [one] is often career-defining.”

Cassper Nyovest leads the pack with five nominations, including for best male artist and album of the year.

Afro-pop jazz band Beatenberg also scored five Sama nominations.

K.O will contest four categories at the awards show.

The ‘so called nominees’ exclusive party’ at Cocoon Lounge in Sandton was a sham. Some of the reporters were made to pay for their bills, having been not informed it was cash bar. Those two complimentary coupons made the night more dull, thus we opted to live in a huff.

Bongani Mahlangu former Sunday World’s features Editor- took a swipe at poor organization and unresponsiveness from the PR team on distributing nominees list, on Radio 2000’s morning show with JustIce. He bared it all…Gloves were off and blood was all over…   

The KIA Record of the Year Sama nominees, who are chosen by public votes, were announced on Friday night.

The nominees are: Build it Up by Monark; Busa by Euphonik; Caracara by K.O featuring Kid X; Congratulate by AKA; Easy to Love by Bucie featuring Heavy K; Pluto (Remember You) by DJ Clock featuring Beatenberg; Rafael by Beatenberg; Rainbow by Black Motion featuring Xoli M; Turn You On by Mi Casa and Y Tjukutja by Uhuru featuring Professor, Oskido & DJ Bucks.

The awards will be held on April 19 at the Sun City Superbowl.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.