[cm_ad_changer group_id="2"]

After hiatus boxing awards return with a fierce punch!

ITS only days before the much awaited Boxing South Africa awards, scheduled for ICC in Durban, January 28, take place.

After hiatus boxing awards return with a fierce punch!


Acknowledged. Boxer Zolani Tete with minister of sport Fikile Mbalula. Tete is vying for top award at this weeks BSA Awards in Durban.

This follows the intervention of minister of sport Fikile ”Razzmatazz” Mbalula by ringing in changes at the cash strapped organization. As a result, the flamboyant “Mbaks” deployed his most senior staff member in the form of Tsholofelo Lejaka to the CEO’s position.

And these are the results. After hiatus of the awards due to infighting, squabbles, maladministration and financially in tatters, BSA is back with a fierce punch!

Ringing in changes. BSA boss Tsholofelo Lejaka will be smiling all the way to the awards on Saturday in Durban.

Lejaka confirmed that only seven of the 17 categories will receive prize monies but was coy when asked about the amounts.

Here are all the Boxing SA awards categories and nominees:

Female Boxer of the Year:

Bukiwe Nonina

Leighandre Jeggels

Sharodine Fortuin

Male Boxer of the Year:

Xolisani Ndongeni

Simphiwe Konco

Zolani Tete

Female Fight of the Year:

Noni Tenge v Szilvia Szanbnos

Gabisile Tshabalala v Unathi Myekeni

Sharodine Fortuin v Simone de Silva

Male Fight of the Year:

Simphiwe Konco v Hekkie Buddler

Azinga Fuzile v Mabuti

Sinyabi Johnny Muller v Kevin Lerena

Female Prospect of the Year:

Nthabiseng Didi

Wolmarans Hedda

Melissa Muller

Male Prospect of the Year:

Thulane Mbenge

Azinga Fuzile

Brandon Thysse

Knockout of the Year:

Lerato Dlamini v Babalo

Ncakeni Zolani Tete v Paul Buttler

Kevin Lerena v Johnny Lerena

Matchmaker of the Year:

Luyanda Kana

Reuben Rasoli

Ephraim Simba

Journalist of the Year:

Sterra Ngqezana

Kwena Moabelo

Malibongwe Bhido

Female Ring Official of the Year:

Siya Vabaza Booi

Phumeza Zinakile

Sylvia Mokaila

Male Ring Official of the Year:

Deon Dwarte

Thabo Spampool

Derryl Ribbink

Most Promising Official of the Year:

Namhla Tyuluba

Mandisi Mkile

Sthembele Tom

Trainer of the Year:

Mzamo Njekanye

Collin Nathan

Keith Raas

Manager of the Year:

Mlandeli Tengimfene

Luyanda Sovasi

Benny Pelman

Promoter of the Year:

Xaba Promotions Showtime

Promotions Reel

Steel Promotions

Most Promising Promoter:

Dream Team Promotions

Supreme Boxing Promotions

Ruble Africa Promotions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.