SA sport stars dominate RASA awards nominees list!

lucas sithole
SA’s darling. Lucas Sithole has been nominated in the Disabled Sportman of the Year category.

Nominated are Rugby Sevens team- for Sports Team of theYear, cyclist Ashleigh Pasio Moolman and athlete Wayde van Niekerk, have been selected as finalists for the prestigious Sportsperson of the Year Award.

The AUSC Region 5 comprises 10 African states, and this is for the first time that SA hosts the awards.

The theme of the awards is “Celebrating Excellence! Inspiring Innovation!”and AUSC General Manager Stanley Mutoya says this is in line with Region5’s strategic goal to continuously promote excellence in sport and recreation at all levels.

Sports minister Fikile “Mbaks” Mbalula, says the RASAs are very exciting news for South African sport.

“We’re thrilled to see our athletes placed in line for the top accolades in so many categories and of course it is an honour for this event to be hosted on South African soil. We wish all the finalists the best of luck and look forward to many top awards for our local athletes.”

The awards take place at Birchwood Hotel on June 25, Saturday evening.


Tristan de Lange: Cycling, Namibia Baboloki Thebe: Athletics, Botswana Kyle Hinde: Rowing, Zimbabwe

JUNIOR SPORTSWOMAN OF THE YEAR Naomi Ruele: Swimming, Botswana Tanyaradzwa Muzinda: Motor Racing, Zimbabwe Erin Gallagher: Swimming, South Africa

SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR Wayde van Niekerk: Athletics, South Africa Charles Manyuchi: Boxing, Zimbabwe Pio Matos: Basketball, Mozambique

SPORTSWOMAN OF THE YEAR Kirsty Coventry: Swimming, Zimbabwe Edmilsa Governo: Athletics, Mozambique Ashleigh Pasio Moolman: Cycling, South Africa

SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR WITH A DISABILITY Ruben Gowaseb: Athletics, Namibia Lucas Sithole: Tennis, South Africa Luck Chitembe: Athletics, Zimbabwe

SPORTSWOMAN OF THE YEAR WITH A DISABILITY Johanna Benson: Athletics, Namibia Ilse Hayes: Athletics, South Africa Dadirai Jack: Golf Special Olympics, Zimbabwe

SPORTS TEAM OF THE YEAR Athletics 4 x 400 meters Men’s Relay: Athletics, Botswana Senior Netball National Team: Netball, Zimbabwe Rugby Sevens: Rugby, South Africa

On song. The SA Sevens ruby team has been nominated in Sports team of the Year category.

COACH OF THE YEAR Graham Hill: Swimming, South Africa Ledwin Dondo: Netball, Zimbabwe Bernado Matsimbe: Basketball, Mozambique

JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR Sheefeni Nicodemus: Namibia Farai Machamire: Zimbabwe Batho Bareng Kortjaas: South Africa

CONFEDERATION OF THE YEAR Swimming Tennis Basketball

REGION 5 AWARD Zambia Zimbabwe Lesotho

SPORTSPERSON OF THE YEAR Kirsty Coventry: Swimming, Zimbabwe Ashleigh Pasio Moolman: Cycling, South Africa Wayde van Niekerk: Athletics, South Africa.

Related posts

Khama looks forward to his first derby, provided he passes fitness test


Hearings on land expropriation without compensation draws varied opinions


Bucs vow to win finals in Nigeria


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.