"Skheshekheshe" bags Coach of the Year award!

It was a night that truly honoured our Sporting Greats, up-and-coming talent and the federations, schools and administrators that turn our youth into future sports stars. “Our sporting heroes are our Nation’s pride,” remarked Minister Fikile Mbalula, Minister of Sports and Recreation.

“They continually represent our country at an extremely high level, and our some of our best ambassadors. Tonight at the SA Sports Awards we honoured all the Sports Stars big and small the way they deserve to be honoured, as stars.”

The awards provided the perfect platform to showcase our sportsmen and women, as well as performers. The hall was abuzz as Chad le Clos was announced as Sports Star of the Year as voted for by the South African public. “Chad has not only won the heart of South Africans, but millions around the globe. His achievements at the Olympics have ascended him onto
the world stage,” remarked Minister Mbalula.

Other category wins and highlights included Vernon Philander being announced Sportsman of the Year. Oscar Pistorius who made history this year by being the first double amputee to compete in both the Olympics and Paralympics was announced as Sportsman of the Year with a Disability, whilst recently retired Swimming Sensation Natalie du Toit was announced as Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability.

The Queen of the track Caster Semenya was announced as Sportswoman of the Year, and up-and-coming Rugby star
Siyamthanda Kolisi was announced Newcomer of the Year. The South African Rowing Team affectionately known as the “awesome foursome” were announced as the Team of the Year.

Full list of the winners:

Sports Star of the Year:        Chad le Clos – Swimming

Sportsman of the Year:         Vernon Philander – Cricket

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability:    Oscar Pistorius – Athletics

Sportswoman of the Year:    Caster Semenya – Athletics

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: Natalie du Toit – Swimming

Team of the Year:      Rowing            

Administrator of the Year:  Wimpie du Plessis – Rowing

Newcomer of the Year:         Siyamthanda Kolisi – Rugby

Coach of the Year:                 Joseph Mkhonza – Banyana Banyana

Indigenous Games of the Year:        Team KZN – KZN Indigenous Games Council

Federation of the Year:         Rowing South Africa

Journalist of the Year:           Velile Mbuli – SABC

Photographer of the Year:   Sydney Seshibedi – The Times

School Team of the Year:      Ithembelihle Comprehensive School – SA Rugby

Developing School Team of the Year:         Nkunzimbini Junior Secondary
School – African Football Championship

Best Recreation Body of the Year: Vhakhegula Vhakhegula – Limpopo Grannies
in Football

Volunteer of the Year: Sondiso Magajana – Judo South Africa



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.