PSL awards upon and Mathoho nominated in three categories!

Chiefs and Bafana defender Eric “Tower” Mathoho has been nominated in three categories for the PSL 2014/15 awards.

The much awaited Premier Soccer League 2014/2015 awards to be held on Sunday.

However, with latest breaking news that match fixing has rocked our football once again, we hope this would not dampen the awards spirit.

Heading the list is the PSL Footballer of the season where Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Cole Alexander (Polokwane City) and Tefu Mashamaite (Kaizer Chiefs) were up for footballer of the season.

Both Mashamaite and Mathoho were also nominated for Players’ Player of the Season with Teko Modise of Mamelodi Sundowns the third nominee.

“Tower” Mathoho will have an operation on his toe next week, but is expected to be fit enough to play for Bafana Bafana in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at home to Gambia on the weekend of June 12-14.

The awards will be held at the Sandton Convention Centre from 8pm and broadcast live on SuperSport.

Full list of awards nominees:

PSL Footballer of the Season voted for by 16 PSL coaches

Mulomowandau Mathoho

Cole Alexander

Tefu Mashamaite

Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season voted for by all PSL players

Tefu Mashamaite

Teko Modise

Mulomowandau Mathoho

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season

Rivaldo Coetzee

Phumlani Ntshangase

Abbubaker Mobara

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

Anssi Jaakkola

Patrick Tignyemb

Moeneeb Josephs

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season

Thulani Hlatshwayo

Tefu Mashamaite

Mulomowandau Mathoho

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season

Teko Modise

Cole Alexander

Willard Katsande

Absa Premiership Top Scorer

Moeketsi Sekola

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season

Aubrey Ngoma

David Zulu

Menzi Masuku

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

Stuart Baxter

Pitso Mosimane

Kosta Papic

MTN Last Man Standing

George Maluleka

Mandla Masango

Tefu Mashamaite

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament

Dove Wome

Thuso Phala

Siyabonga Mpontshane

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Tashreeq Morris

Teko Modise

David Mathebula

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament

Tashreeq Morris

Bantu Mzwakali

Riyaad Norodien

NFD Top Scorer

Phumelele Bhengu

Referee of the Season

Phillip Tinyani

Kulasande Gqonqo

Robert Smith

Assistant Referee of the Season

Peter Chauke

Zakhele Siwela

Related posts

What a wonderful sporting weekend it turned out to be for South Africans!


Durban Chamber of Commerce worried on flaring protests that has affected business


Dubai group buys majority stake in SA liquor distribution company


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.