Top 2021 performing matriculants to be honoured

The 2021 matric exams commenced on 27 October 2021 and ran until 6 December 2021.

In total, 897,786 matrics registered to write the 2021 NSC examinations, of which 82% were full-time candidates.

Marking began two days later and, with a force of more than 41,500 markers, wrapped up on 22 December 2021.

Umalusi approved the release of the results on Tuesday, 18 January 2022.

However, the council barred the Department of Basic Education (DBE) from releasing the results of candidates implicated in group copying and those who gained early access to the question papers.

Umalusi chair John Volmink said that these irregularities must be investigated.

“The DBE is required to block the results of candidates implicated in irregularities, including the candidates involved in group copying, pending the outcome of further DBE investigation,” Volmink said.

Until recently, the publication of individual matric results was controversial as the DBE decided it would not post learners’ results on public platforms.

The DBE explained this was necessary to comply with the recently-enacted Protection of Personal Information Act.

However, the Pretoria High Court ruled that the DBE should continue publishing matric results publicly, including in newspapers and online.

There are many ways for matriculants who wrote their exams last year to get their results, including SMSes, online portals, and using a mobile app.

Alternatively, learners can take the more traditional approach of getting their results from their school or centre where they wrote the exams.

Those who do not wish to travel to their school or exam centre can use the methods listed below.

Image (Who will follow in their steps? Today 2021 top matriculants will be honoured by the minister of basic education).

Related posts

MINI will only produce 30 units- so get ordering yours NOW!


Suzuki Fronx- nothing to ‘frown’ about during festive season


Cele gone too soon!


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.