Eskom reach agreement with municipalities!

brian molefe
Eskom Acting boss Brian Molefe has gave a stern warning to municipalities to pay up.

This comes after Eskom earlier this month threatened to cut power supply to 20 non-paying municipalities from June 5.
“Eskom has reached a point where it can no longer continue to provide power without receiving payment‚” Molefe said‚ in a statement issued by the Eskom media desk.
The statement added the payment agreements meant the 10 municipalities would no longer face the risk of power interruptions.
Eskom‚ meanwhile‚ also announced a resumption of load-shedding for the first time since the Freedom Day long weekend.
Stage one load-shedding was implemented from 6pm today‚ Wednesday‚ and was scheduled to continue until 10pm.
Eskom had threatened to cut bulk electricity supply to the 20 municipalities which owed the cash-strapped utility R3.68 billion in unpaid power bills.
These municipalities are: Maluti-a-Phofung‚ Matjhabeng‚ Emalahleni‚ Ngwathe‚ Thaba Chweu‚ Lekwa‚ Govan Mbeki‚ City of Matlosana‚ Naledi‚ Thabazimbi‚ Msukaligwa‚ Lichtenburg‚ Nala‚ Makana‚ Madibeng‚ Randfontein‚ Dihlabeng‚ Nketoana‚ Nama Khoi and Westonaria.

Related posts

LG-SA boss expatiate on the importance of manufacturing to fight unemployment


Reading is a challenge in SA – question is will it ever improve and at what cost?


PP reacts to her suspension by the President


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.